Live Sports

Click Here for more

BiG3 The Game Changer Ever

Big3 is a professional 3-on-3 basketball league founded by hip hop musician and actor Ice Cube and entertainment executive Jeff Kwatinetz. The league consists of twelve teams whose rosters include both former NBA players and international players. The rules enforced in Big3 games contain major deviations from the official rules of 3-on-3 basketball as administered by FIBA.

Short History:
On January 11, 2017, Ice Cube and Jeff Kwatinetz announced their new 3-on-3 basketball league at the Sheraton Times Square Hotel, in New York City.Roger Mason Jr. was the first President and Commissioner in league history. The Big3 held its first draft on April 30, and the inaugural week of games took place June 25 at the Barclays Center, in Brooklyn, New York. August 26, 2017 Trilogy defeated the 3 Headed Monsters 51–46 in the inaugural Big3 Championship game, completing a perfect (10–0) season. The league’s Most Valuable Player award was won by 3 Headed Monsters forward Rashard Lewis; Trilogy’s undefeated season led to several awards for members of the team, including Defensive Player of the Year James White and Coach of the Year Rick Mahorn.

Jeff Kwatinetz Ice Cube

On March 15, 2018, Clyde Drexler became the second Commissioner in the league history, replacing Roger Mason. April 3 2018 the Big3 and Adidas agreed on a three-year partnership in which Adidas would launch a full retail line of sneakers, clothing, and equipment to launch in 2019. In conjunction with Adidas, the Big3 launched Young3, a youth initiative for underprivileged young kids, that was held in each city with Boys & Girls Clubs of America.

At the conclusion of the 2018 regular season, the Power and 3 Headed Monsters were both tied for the league’s best record (7–1); the Power would advance to the championship game, while the 3 Headed Monsters were ultimately eliminated by 3’s Company in the semifinals. On August 24, 2018, the Power defeated 3’s Company 51–43 to become the league’s second champions. Power’s Corey Maggette was awarded MVP and Captain of the Year, while Power’s Nancy Lieberman was awarded Coach of the Year.

On January 11, 2019, the Big3 announced that they would expand to 12 teams for the upcoming season, and move to two nights (consisting of three games each) per week. The league will also play in 18 cities, and allow players as young as 27 to compete in the league.

Leave a Reply